Former UGC chairman Prof Thorat to head panel for Karnataka State Education Policy


The state government on Wednesday issued an order constituting a committee to frame Karnataka State Education Policy. The panel is headed by Prof Sukhdev Thorat, former chairman of the University Grants Commission (UGC).

The committee consists of 15 members including retired IAS officer Sanjay Kaul who was secretary of School Education, Government of India; Prof S Japhet, former vice-chancellor of Bengaluru City University; Prof Johan Shankar former vice-chancellor Kuvempu University and Sudhir Krishnaswamy, Vice-Chancellor of NLSIU Bengaluru.

The committee has been told to submit its report before February 28, 2024.

The other members of the committee include Rajendra Chenni and Natraj Budalu; Sudanshu Bhushan, HoD, Higher and Professional Education, National Institute of Educational Planning and Administration (NIEPA), New Delhi; Pranati Panda, HoD, School and non-formal Education, NIEPA; Furqan Qamar from Jamia Miliya University New Delhi; Sharath Ananthamurthy, University of Hyderabad, A Narayana, V P Niranjanaradhya and others.